SportsEuro 2024. Why did the Spanish team not sing the anthem? The answer is quite simple

Euro 2024. Why did the Spanish team not sing the anthem? The answer is quite simple

Euro 2024. Why didn't the Spanish sing the anthem?
Euro 2024. Why didn't the Spanish sing the anthem?
Images source: © Getty Images | Julian Finney
Bartłomiej Nowak

15 June 2024 19:31

Before the Spain vs. Croatia match, which Spain won with a score of 3-0, the players of the Spanish team did not sing the anthem. Why? It’s not about any conspiracy theories or boycotts. The explanation is straightforward.

Just like before all the Euro matches, both countries' anthems were played before the blockbuster Saturday clash between Spain and Croatia. Many questions and comments arose when the players remained silent while playing "La Marcha Real" - the Spanish anthem.

Not a single player from the Iberian Peninsula sang the national anthem. Fans from all over the world wondered whether this was some form of protest.

It turns out it’s none of those things. The explanation is relatively mundane: the Spanish anthem, one of only four anthems alongside those of San Marino, Kosovo, and Bosnia and Herzegovina, does not have lyrics.

The Spanish anthem was composed by Manuel de Espinosa de los Monteros in 1771. It became one of Spain's symbols around the world during Queen Isabella II's reign, which lasted from 1833 to 1868. At that time, only the melody was played.

Lyrics appeared in the Spanish anthem during the reign of General Franco (1938–1973). After his rule, the text was removed again because it was directly associated with the dictatorship.

After General Franco's death and the restoration of the monarchy in the country, Juan Carlos I became the ruler. At the beginning of the reign of Alfonso XIII, the last King of Spain's grandson, the anthem, which remains just a melody to this day, was reintroduced.

Some fans sing unofficial lyrics of the anthem in the stands. Not everyone does this, as people from Catalonia, the Basque Country, or Tenerife do not participate. As a result, the players also remain silent, as they did before the match against Croatia.

The Spanish team, led by Luis de la Fuente, also known as "La Furia Roja," is a three-time Euro winner (1964, 2008, and 2012). In the tournament in Germany, they play in Group B, and their opponents are Croatia, Italy, and Albania.

Related content